“All clocks will start on time”: Virender Sehwag on preference bias in India-Australia women’s hockey CWG semi-final

In the end, India lost to Australia in the semi-finals of women’s hockey during the ongoing Commonwealth Games. However, the penalty shootout has now become hotly debated after the referee ordered Australia’s first kick to be replayed due to a clock error. It is important to note that Ambrosia Malone missed the penalty kick, but the match officials ordered the shot to be retaken and Ambrosia did not convert his shot this time.

Former India player Virender Sehwag has now reacted strongly to the officials’ call, saying such bias used to be for cricket until they became superpowers.

“The miss hua penalty Australia se and Umpire said, Sorry The clock starts nahi hua. Such bias has happened in cricket before until we became superpowers, Hockey mein bhi hum jald banenge and all the clocks will start on time. Proud of us girls,” Sehwag tweeted.

Australia eventually beat India 3-0 in the penalty shootout to secure a spot in the final, and they will face England in the gold medal match. On the other hand, India will face New Zealand in the bronze medal match.

Former Indian hockey team captain Viren Rasquinha also reacted strongly to the incident, tweeting: “@FIH_Hockey really needs to act in order. Timing is fundamental. This is not a game. This is not the second game of the year at major tournaments like this will happen.Our beautiful sport will lose its prestige and will lose many crazy fans. heat if FIH continues to increase f*#$.”

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) on Saturday also apologized for the clock controversy that took place during the Indian women’s semi-final loss to Australia at the Commonwealth Games, saying it will “carefully look into” the case. Australia’s Rosie Malone, who missed her first attempt in the penalty shootout, was given another chance as the second countdown on the scoreboard had not yet begun.

“During the semi-final of the 2022 Commonwealth Games Birmingham between Australia and India (Women’s) the penalty shootout started wrongly too early (the clock was not ready to go), we apologize,” FIH said. said in a statement. .


“The procedure that applies to such situations is to retake the penalty shootout. This incident will be scrutinized by the FIH to avoid any similar problems in the future,” the statement added. .

(With PTI input)

Topics covered in this article

Source link


News 7D: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button