College Football Awards: USC’s Caleb Williams Named AP Player of the Year

USC midfielder Caleb William was named the Associated Press college football player of the year on Thursday, becoming the school’s first person to win the award since 2005 for his stellar first season for the Trojans.

Williams received 32 of 46 votes in first place and a total of 117 points from 25 voters in the top AP poll to win the award presented by the Regional Bank. Love the Heisman Trophy done well first TCU midfielder Max Dugansecond place with six votes in first place and 64 points.

Ohio State midfielder CJ Stroud third, with of Tennessee Whore Hendon in fourth place and Georgia Stetson Bennett Thursday.

Alabama full-back Will Anderson Jr., the SEC Defensive Player of the Year repeat for the first time, is the only non-midfielder of this year’s eight most voted, coming sixth after standing fourth last season.

[Heisman Trophy preview: Key questions around each finalist]

Williams, Stroud, Duggan and Bennett are the finalists of the Heisman Trophy, the winner of which will be crowned on Saturday.

Several other awards have already been given or will be given out over the next few days, including a collection of them on Thursday night. Here is the latest news:

AP Player of the Year
Winner: Caleb Williams, QB, USC

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (Defensive Player of the Year, as judged by the FWAA)
Winner: Will Anderson Jr., LB, Alabama

Eddie Robinson (Coach of the Year, judged by the FWAA)
Winner: John Stiegelmeier, South Dakota State

Broyles Award (Top Assistant Coach)
Winner: Garrett Riley, OC/QB coach, TCU

Burlsworth Trophy (Previous Top Walk)
Winner: Stetson Bennett, QB, Georgia

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award (Top Defender)
Winner: Max Duggan, TCU

Lombardi Award (Outstanding College Football Curator)
Winner: Will Anderson Jr., Alabama

Paul Hornung Award (Most Versatile Player)
Winner: Jack CollettoLB, Oregon State

William V. Campbell Cup (Academic Heisman)
Winner: Jack CampbellLB, Iowa

Butkus Award (Top Supporter)
Winner: TBD

Chuck Bednarik Award (Defensive Player of the Year, as judged by Maxwell Club)
Winner: TBD

Belitnikoff Award (outstanding recipient)
Winner: TBD

Lou Groza Award (Outstanding Goal Scorer)
Winner: TBD

Ray Guy Award (bettor of the year)
Winner: TBD

Maxwell Award (player of the year)
Winner: TBD

Davey O’Brien Award (Best Midfielder)
Winner: TBD

Outland Trophy (best interior manager)
Winner: TBD

Jim Thorpe Award (Best Defender)
Winner: TBD

Doak Walker Award (best run back)
Winner: TBD

John Mackey Award (excellent tight finish)
Winner: TBD

Rimington Trophy (center of excellence)
Winner: TBD

Joe Moore Award (Top Attack Line)
Winner: TBD

Sports News Coach of the Year
Winner: TBD

Sports News Player of the Year
Winner: TBD

Ted Hendricks Award (Top Defensive)
Winner: TBD

Wuerffel Trophy (Community Service Award)
Winner: TBD

Read more:

Get more from College Football Follow your favorites to get game info, news and more


News 7D: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button