Darrelle Revis, DeMarcus Ware, Joe Thomas Title Class of the Hall of Fame 2023

Joe Thomas started 167 games in a row in his 11 seasons with Cleveland Brownsearn 10 Pro Bowl nods and make NFLAll-Decade team of the 2010s.

Full-back Darrelle Revis is a seven-time professional bowler and four-time All-Pro while playing 11 seasons for four different teams, earning the nickname “Revis Island”. Like Thomas, Revis was also selected to the 2010 Decade.

Here’s another thing they have in common: Both players were inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in their first year of qualifying. Thomas and Revis join three other modern-day players to be voted in as winger DeMarcus Ware, defensive back Ronde Barber and full-back Zach Thomas.

Selected by the Hall’s selection panel last month, this year’s class was announced live on “NFL Honors” in Arizona on Thursday and will be held in Canton, Ohio, on August 5. .

Along with those five, coach Don Coryell, full-back Chuck Howley, defensive player Joe Klecko and full-back Ken Riley were elected by the senior committee, the coach and the Hall of Fame collaborator. Fame.

Finalists who were not shortlisted this year include receivers Torrey Holt, Reggie Wayne and Andre Johnson, along with passers Dwight Freeney and Jared Allen, returning Devin Hester, full-back Albert Lewis , safe Darren Woodson, full-back Patrick Willis and attacking forward Willie Anderson.

One of the most talented and effective linebackers in NFL history, Joe Thomas missed 30 pitches in 6,680 tackles during his career, according to Pro Football Focus. He also won many praises for his durability. Picked in 3rd place overall in the 2007 draft by Cleveland, Thomas played every offensive move he could until suffering a triceps injury in Week 7 of the 2017 season. He played a total. 10,363 consecutive times, arguably the longest record in tournament history.

Revis finished with 29 interceptions in his 11 seasons in the NFL, including 8 with New York Jets. He won a Super Bowl with New England Patriots after the 2014 season.

“Darrelle can handle anyone,” said former Jets coach Rex Ryan. “I don’t care if it’s the people in the Hall of Fame or not, he locked them up and covered them up, and it wasn’t even close.”

Ware has had 138.5 career eliminations and 35 forced fumbles in 12 years of professional play, the first 9 with dalas cowboy. He won a Super Bowl with Dancer broncos after the 2015 season, a seven-time Pro pitcher and four-time All-Pro, Ware posted double-digit sacks eight times.

Zach Thomas is a ball handling machine for Miami Dolphins, led his team to stoppages for 10 seasons and finished with at least 100 tackles in each of his first 11 years in the league. A seven-time Professional pitcher and five-time All-Pro, Thomas finished with 20.5 career pitches and 17 interceptions.

Curtis Martin once said: “Zach is not the biggest, strongest or fastest, but he is the smartest and most instinctive. “No matter where I go, he’s still there.”

Barber has established a new position – corner slot – in a predominance Tampa Bay Buccaneers defense. He started 215 games in a row (224 post-season) in 16 NFL seasons, scoring 47 interceptions and 14 touchdowns for the defensive and special teams (eight interceptions, 4 collects). clumsy rebounds and two interceptions to score.) Barber is the only player in NFL history. with at least 45 interceptions and 25 sacks. He’s also the NFL’s all-time leader in corner kicks with 28.

Coryell is considered one of the founders of modern NFL crime. While the head coach of San Diego ChargerCoryell’s teams competed in two AFC Championship Games and won three consecutive AFC West titles between 1979 and 1981. He also won the NFC Eastern Division title with St. Louis Cardinals in 1974 and 1975.

But Coryell is primarily known for his “Air Coryell” offense, creating high-scoring, pass-oriented teams built around quarterback Dan Fouts, full-back Kellen Winslow and receiver Charlie Joiner, all three are Hall of Famers. Coryell’s innovation in his use of single-ended sets with Winslow and his focus on the vertical passing game helped the Chargers lead the NFL for six straight seasons from 1978 to 1983 – the longest on record. Super Bowl era.

Riley played 15 seasons with Cincinnati Bengals from 1969 to 1985. “Mr. Bengal” had a total of 65 interceptions in his career, ranking 5th all time with Charles Woodson.

A six-time Pro Bowler and five-time All-Pro, the former Cowboys defender Howley was named the MVP of Super Bowl V – the first defensive player and non-midfielder to win the award. Howley is also the only player on the losing team to be named the MVP of a Super Bowl game.

Klecko is part of the “New York Sack Exchange.” The defensive midfielder played 12 seasons, 11 times with the Jets and totaled 78 goals, including a career-high 20.5 in 1981. Klecko is also known for his versatility. , ranked as one of only two players in NFL history to be selected to the Pro Bowl in three different positions.

Eric D. Williams has covered the NFL for over a decade, covering the Los Angeles Rams for Sports Illustrated, the Los Angeles Chargers for ESPN and the Seattle Seahawks for the Tacoma News Tribune. Follow him on Twitter at @eric_d_williams.

Top stories from FOX Sports:

ACCORDING TO Follow your favorites to personalize your FOX Sports experience

National Football League

dalas cowboy

New York Jets

Get more from the National Football League Follow your favorites to get game info, news and more


News 7D: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button