The 2022 FIFA World Cup final turned out to be bad, with France stripping Argentina of the lead every time the South American team took the lead. Kylian MbappeHis double brought the score back to level 2-2 after Lionel Messi and Angel di Maria put their team ahead. In extra time, Messi scored from close range to give Argentina a 3-2 lead, but Mbappe completed a hat-trick just minutes later to make it 3-3. However, some fans have now suggested that Messi’s second goal of the game should have been disallowed.
Messi’s second goal in the final was a recovery attempt after France’s captain and goalkeeper Hugo Lloris saved the previous attempt. Messi used his right foot to put the ball past Lloris to give Argentina a 3-2 lead. There are some who think that Messi may have been offside in the goal but that is not the case.
However, others suggested that while Messi was about to put the ball in the net, several Argentine players entered the playing field. Therefore, the goal should not have stood.
Here is a video of Messi’s second goal in the final:
– Vivek (@CinnaKalaivanar) December 18, 2022
Here are the tweets:
Will Messi’s second goal be denied? pic.twitter.com/QX7Zg4bLhr
Some suggested that Lionel Messi’s second goal should have been disallowed because the two Argentina substitutes took to the field to celebrate just before the ball crossed the line.
Maybe for the text of the law, but it’s too trivial to be under the control of the VAR. pic.twitter.com/ZyL5c2k9eJ
Just looking at Argentina’s third goal, 3 substitutes were on the field before the ball went over the line. Shouldn’t that be allowed? pic.twitter.com/dJC33aDiRR
– Paul Evans-Cornish (@Paul_EC) December 18, 2022
– Ryan (@RyanHulls) December 18, 2022
The official FIFA rules state: “If, after a goal has been scored, the referee realizes, before play has restarted, that there was an extra person on the field when the goal was scored, the referee must disqualify the referee. get the goal.”
The French newspaper L’Equipe wrote on the matter: “Except that the goal is invalid If we strictly apply the rules. When Messi volleyed to save Hugo Lloris, several emotional Argentina substitutes were on the field, ready to celebrate. That is strictly forbidden.”
Messi’s second goal was not enough for Argentina to win as Mbappe’s penalty in extra time was cancelled. The match entered a penalty shootout to decide the fate of the match. Argentina won 4-2 in the penalty shootout to lift the world championship trophy for the third time in its history.
After the result, the debate about Argentina’s third goal (Messi’s second) continued on social networks.
Featured video of the day
Viral: The French President’s speech in the dressing room after the team won the World Cup
Topics covered in this article