Finn Allen and Michael Braceball Named in New Zealand’s T20 World Cup Team of the Year, Kane Williamson to Lead

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) on Tuesday announced its 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup squad slated to play in Australia in October-November. Finn Allen and Michael Bracewell have been named to their first high-profile World Cups and are the only new face of the team that made it to the final of last year’s event in the UAE.

Paceman Adam Milne managed to keep his place in the team, after the 30-year-old was called in as a replacement Lockie Ferguson (calf injury) at the beginning of the tournament last October. Devon Conway has been named an attacking goalkeeper after wearing gloves in the UAE and his recent series against the West Indies.

Martin GuptilHis selection for his seventh T20 World Cup sees him join an exclusive list of players in Dwayne Bravo, Chris GayleMohammad Mahmudullahand Mushfiqur Rahim – while Shakib Al-Hasan and Rohit Sharma are getting ready for their eighth event. Nathan McCullum and Ross Taylor are the only New Zealanders to have appeared at six T20 World Cups.

“Among those featured in last year’s World Cup squad, Kyle Jamieson was not considered as he continued his recovery from a back injury, while Todd Astle and Tim Seifert missed the choice,” an official NZC statement said.

New Zealand’s T20 World Cup squad will compete for the first time in the T20 series against Pakistan and Bangladesh starting in Christchurch on October 7. With seven matches over eight days at the Hagley Oval, the trio will bring the fans last chance to see the team before they depart for Australia on October 15.

“It’s always a special moment to announce a World Cup squad and I would like to congratulate the 15 players selected today. It is exciting for Finn and Michael who have prepared for the first ICC events. their team, while Martin Guptill is preparing for his 7th World T20 World Cup – that’s an incredible achievement in itself,” said head coach Gary Stead.

“It’s great to have this tournament right after last year’s event in which we played some really good cricket matches, but couldn’t push the limit at the last minute. With the nucleus of that squad retained With the exciting additions of Finn and Michael, we should go into the league with optimism,” he added.

New Zealand will open their T20 World Cup campaign against Australia at SCG on Saturday, October 22, before facing Afghanistan (MCG), England (Gabba), and two qualifiers at the SCG and Adelaide Oval respectively.


New Zealand’s squad for the T20 World Cup and series three: Kane Williamson (c), Finn Allen, Trent BoultMichael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Adam Milne, Daryl MitchellJimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee.

Topics covered in this article

Source link


News 7D: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button