Game

How to permanently delete all Facebook accounts and accounts owned by Meta


It’s never really been easy to unplug the social media account you’ve had for years. For many of us, our accounts filled with years of photos, memories, and memes aren’t easy to part with, even when we’re ready to stop our daily scrolling habit. For Facebook, Instagram, and other Meta-running services, completely deleting an account isn’t necessarily straightforward either.

And while all the services are run by the same company, there is no centralized way to delete all the accounts associated with your Meta. The good news is that deleting these accounts is in many cases a lot easier than it used to be, even if there are sometimes a few extra steps involved. Keep reading to learn exactly how to delete your Facebook, Instagram, Messenger, WhatsApp, and Oculus accounts.

First, download your data

Regardless of your reasons for wanting to leave your account behind, it’s a good idea to take your time downloading all of your data before deleting them permanently. Downloading your data will ensure you have a record of your past posts, messages, photos, and other activity.

These data stores look a little different for each service, but in general they contain your past posts, a record of the accounts you follow, your messages, and even some activity. your past on the service. Some, such as Facebook, will even provide a record of what the site’s advertisers know about you.

In other words: that’s a lot of data. And it doesn’t seem like much is worth keeping, but if you’ve been using an account for years it’s a great way to keep a record of your past photos, videos, and other posts. (Although you should also be prepared for it to show some data you might not want to remember, such as conversations with ex-partners or college photos.)

Above Facebookyou can access your archive from: Settings & Privacy -> Settings -> Your Facebook Info -> download your info -> download requests.

Above Instagramit’s More -> Settings -> Privacy and Security -> Download Data -> Request Download.

Above WhatsApp, it’s Settings -> Accounts -> Request Account Info. (Please note that WhatsApp reports do not include the actual content of your messages. If you want to keep a copy of your messages, you’ll need to. export your chat history on each message thread you want to hang up.

Above Message, the download must be initiated through the mobile app. On both Android and iOS, go to Account Settings (located under the “chat” tab) -> Your Facebook Info -> Download your info. You’ll then be able to specify a few aspects of the data, such as media quality, data format, and date range that you want to download.

Because glasses and Meta Quest users, you can use the linked “download your info” tool this.

Once you’ve archived your data, you’ll be ready to permanently delete your accounts. Although, like the data download process, it can take up to several days for the process to complete.

How to delete Facebook

The Facebook app logo is seen in this illustration, taken August 22, 2022. REUTERS/Dado Ruvic/Illustration

Dado Ruvic / reuters

Before you permanently delete Facebook, one word of caution: stealing your account will also steal third-party accounts that you also used Facebook to log in with. In some cases, you can restore them through the app’s support channels, but there’s no guarantee. Follow the steps this to review which apps and websites you use Facebook to log in to.

Likewise, if your Oculus account is linked to your Facebook identity, deleting your Facebook will also permanently delete your Oculus account, including your past purchases. (Note, Meta currently allows VR users to create a “Meta Accounts” independent of Facebook.)

Once you’re sure you’re ready to delete, you can find the option from Settings & Privacy -> Settings -> Your Facebook Info -> Deactivate and Remove -> Remove Account -> Continue to delete account -> Delete account

However, even after you’ve smashed the last “delete” button, Facebook Note that it still takes about 30 days for your information to be completely deleted. It also means that if you change your mind within 30 days, you can cancel the request. According to the company, it can take up to 90 days for the deletion process to complete, although your profile and other information won’t be visible to others on Facebook during that time.

How to delete Instagram

Bangkok, Thailand - July 27, 2019 : Instagram users like their own photos on Instagram.

Wachiwit via Getty Images

Because Instagramyou need to visit the “delete your account” page, which can be found this. From there, you’ll have to choose a reason from the drop-down menu and enter your password.

Like Facebook, Instagram notes that it can take “up to 90 days from the start of the deletion process to delete everything you’ve posted,” although the posts won’t be visible to others on the platform. foundation during that time.

How to delete Facebook Messenger

If you delete your Facebook account, your Messenger account will also be permanently deleted, so you don’t need to take extra steps if you’ve already deleted your Facebook presence. But it’s also worth noting that just deactivate your Facebook will not affect your ability to use Messenger or other users’ ability to find you on the app.

However, if you happen to be using Messenger do not have linked Facebook account, you can delete your account through the app. On both iOS and Android: Account Settings -> Remove your account and info and enter your password.

How to delete WhatsApp

WhatsApp account can be deleted directly from the app via Settings -> Accounts -> Remove my account. The app will then prompt you to enter your phone number. As with Facebook and Instagram, the company says the complete removal process can take up to 90 days.

Meta Quest Pro headset and Quest Touch Pro controller.

Sam Rutherford/Reference

As noted above, if you already use Facebook to log into your Oculus account, deleting Facebook should take care of that. However, if your Oculus login is separate, you need to log in to your account on the Oculus website from a browser, then navigate to My Profile -> Privacy Center – > Delete your Oculus account.

Please note that this process will only work until January 1, 2023, when Meta will force all Oculus accounts to switch to the new Meta account mentioned above. For newer Meta accounts, you can delete your presence by heading to auth.meta.com/settingslog in, select “delete your account”, re-enter your password and select “delete your data”.

Again, please note that this will prevent you from using the VR headset and will delete any previous purchases you have made.

All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team, independent of our parent company. Some of our stories include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission. All prices are correct at time of publication.

news7d

News 7D: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, Sports...at the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button