Sports

Ice Hockey Winter Olympics Controversial As ‘Ghost Goals’ Force Players Back to Ice


The US-Finland women’s ice hockey clash has been ordered to restart after match officials missed a ‘ghost goal’ in the normal game

Loading video

Video not available

Key numbers ahead of the 2022 Winter Olympics

Even though it’s only two days away, 2022 Beijing Winter Olympics was embroiled in controversy after Thursday ice Hockey incident.

This came after players in the US-Finland women’s clash were ordered to return to the field, after match officials missed a ‘ghost goal’ scored by Fins earlier in the game.

When the final whistle blew, the players began to ecstasy as the Americans comfortably won 5-1 over their opponents.

However, chaos then spilled into the stands, after the blushing umpires revealed that they had returned the players to the ice after somehow failing to score a goal for Finland.






Officials had to flee after realizing the error.

Officials then misinformed both groups of confused players and ordered that the game be restarted from the moment the ghost goal had occurred, with the score added to the scoreboard.

As a result the match continued with 2:20 on the clock and the score is now fixed to 5-2.

But the fighting Fins were unable to take advantage of their second chance, as neither team was able to add to their tally, and the match ended the same way it was restarted.

Team USA heads to China as the defending champions after winning a gold medal in Pyeongchang in 2018.

And although their opener controversy caused a bit of fear, they defended their title to a perfect start with a win.

Do you agree with the referee’s decision to restart the game? Let us know in comment section below.






The US was able to leave with victory despite the controversy.

Things started off well for the Americans, as two early goals from Kendall Coyne-Schofield and Alex Carpenter gave the Olympic champion the lead.

Fins were then able to make their own way up the scoreboard when Susanna Tapani pulled back one, however this was soon canceled when Amanda Kessel added a fifth for the Americans.






Finland’s ‘ghost goal’ has finally been awarded by officials.

Controversy ensued as Tapani appeared to have scored her and Finland’s second, however after the ball appeared to dive inside the post and out of the net, the officials erred in play. .

Their mistake was later realized after the game, leading to the goal being awarded and the game being restarted.

Finland’s rescue, however, was in vain, as the Americans responded to the restart in professional fashion to win 5-2.

Read more

Read more





Source link

news7d

News of max: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, Sports...at the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button