Have your posts on Instagram getting less engagement than you used to? Do you believe you are going through a scary shadow ban? Instagram will now let you know if your post isn’t recommended to other users, Instagram head Adam Mosseri announced on Wednesday (December 7).
Creators and businesses can see if their posts are blocked from appearing in app suggestions, such as at the bottom of Feed or Explore, or elsewhere, where Instagram shows photos and videos from people you don’t follow.
Tweet may have been deleted
(opens in a new tab)
“Today we’re announcing new transparency tools so you can see if your photos and videos are recommended in places like discovery,” Mosseri said in a video posted to Facebook. Twitter. “Now, we know reach can be volatile. You can see the number of people you reach increase and decrease over time, and one of the reasons it happens is that sometimes your account has an issue. may be ineligible for your photos and videos in what we call recommendations.”
To find out if posts in your account are blocked from being suggested, click your settings menu and navigate to your account settings under “accounts”. There, you can see if any of your posts are banned from being suggested.
There are many reasons why your post might be blocked — maybe you’re not following the community guidelines or your post has been flagged too many times. This will likely be seen as a transparency tool for creators, but honestly, the transparency I’m still hoping to see from Instagram is the insight into who (if any) blocked me. I doubt I will ever know.