Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe, Karim Benzema nominated for FIFA Best Player award

File image of Kylian Mbappe and Lionel Messi together.© AFP

The champion of the world Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe And Karim Benzema was announced on Friday as the three finalists for FIFA’s The Best award for last year. Two-time Ballon d’Or winner Alexia Putellas of Spain, England striker Beth Mead and US star Alex Morgan was nominated for the top women’s award. Paris Saint-Germain teammates Messi and Mbappe, who faced each other in the World Cup final last year, are vying with Benzema for success. Robert lewandowskiFIFA award winners in 2020 and 2021.

Benzema won the Ballon d’Or last year for his performances with Real Madrid but missed the World Cup through injury. Barcelona and Spain midfielder Putellas won the women’s award last time and was nominated again despite having been sidelined since July after rupturing the anterior cruciate ligament in his left knee.

Arsenal striker Beth Mead, Putellas’ runner-up for the Ballon d’Or in October, is also currently sidelined with a long-term knee injury.

The winners will be revealed on February 27 in Paris. They will be voted on by a panel of national team coaches and captains as well as journalists and fans. There are also awards for best men’s and women’s coach, best goalkeeper and the Puskas award for the best goal of 2022.

Featured video of the day

Dipa Karmakar banned for 21 months after failing a dope test

Topics covered in this article


News 7D: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button