Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023: India faces Spain in campaign opening match

The Indian hockey team will begin the 2023 Hockey World Cup Campaign against Spain at the newly built Birsa Munda International Hockey Stadium in Rourkela on January 13 according to the schedule set by the Federation International Hockey (FIH) announced on Tuesday. India, the team that won the bronze medal at Tokyo 2020, will face England, ranked 6th in the world, on January 15 at the same venue. On January 19, India’s men’s hockey team will play its final match in Pool D at Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar, the second venue of the 2023 Men’s Hockey World Cup, against Wales. , ranked 16th in the world.

The 2023 Hockey World Championship will begin on January 13 and continue until January 29, with 4 groups of 4 teams fighting for the Championship trophy. India is placed in Group D along with Spain, England and Wales.

Currently ranked 5th in the hockey rankings, India coached by Graham Reid is the top of the 4 teams in Group D. Spain is ranked 8th in the world and has had the last impression under his reign. former Dutch coach Max Caldas.

2016 Olympic gold medalists Argentina and Africa’s highest ranked nation South Africa will open the 2023 FIH Odisha Men’s Hockey World Championship. The confrontation between these two international hockey powerhouses will take place on January 13 at Kalinga Stadium, which hosted the final Men’s World Cup final in 2018.

The second match of the day at Bhubaneswar will see world number one Australia face France, in a repeat 2018 World Cup quarter-final.

Later that same day, the brand new Birsa Munda Hockey Stadium in Rourkela will host the first FIH World Cup matches, starting with a “derby” match between England and Wales.

In total, 44 matches will be played, with the Final scheduled for January 29 (7pm local time) in Bhubaneswar.

The draw held on 8 September in Bhubaneswar identified the four Pools as follows:

Group A: Australia, Argentina, France, South Africa

Group B: Belgium, Germany, Korea, Japan

Group C: Netherlands, New Zealand, Malaysia, Chile

Group D: India, England, Spain, Wales

Chile and Wales qualify for the Men’s World Cup for the first time.

Belgium are the current world champions, having beaten the Netherlands in the final of the 2018 tournament.


India’s best World Cup performance came in 1975 when they won the only title by beating Pakistan 2-1 in the title match in Kuala Lumpur.

India will be the host country for the fourth FIH World Hockey Tournament in 2023.

Topics covered in this article

Source link


News 7D: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button