Mo Salah, Raheem Sterling and the players with the most penalties in the last 6 years

Mohamed Salah and Raheem Sterling are often accused of coming down too easily, but the statistics prove that the pair are among the most fouled in the box.

Mohamed Salah is one of the most fouled players in the Premier League
Mohamed Salah is one of the most fouled players in the Premier League

It has been revealed that several Premier League stars are among those who have taken the most penalties over the past six seasons by those in Europe’s top five leagues.

Players falling easily and trying to trick the referee into making a decision is a weekly talking point in England’s top flight, and even the advent of VAR has not completely eliminated the ‘bad side’ of the game. Soccer. But a report from FBRep showed the same few players who were regularly fouled in the box.

There are some ‘usual suspects’ in the list of the top nine players who have won the penalty, although stars like Cristiano Ronaldo not as high as one would expect. The Manchester United star is ninth with nine penalties won since the start of the 2016/17 season.

He shares the spot with teammate Marcus Rashford, Newcastle Callum Wilson, Athletic Bilbao’s Iker Muniain and Serie A duo Joaquin Correa and Dries Mertens. French pair Moussa Dembele and Corentin Jean also share the spot, along with Gianluca Lapadula and Breel Donald Embolo.

Domination of Premier League continues in eighth place, with Arsenal by Alexandre Lacazette and Chelsea Timo Werner of both won 10 penalties. They share the location with the former Liverpool star Luis Suarez.

Watford Ismaila Sarr is seventh, with 11 penalties. PSG’s Neymar is often complained about his stage abilities but he shares the spot with the Senegal winger, as well as the Spaniard Santi Mina.

Raheem Sterling tops the list with 18 penalties won

The representative of the UK’s top flight continues in sixth place with Leicester City star Jamie Vardy; he, Marcus Thuram, Mauro Icardi, Nabil Fekir and Andrea Belotti have all won 12 starts over the past six seasons. Serie A duo Edin Dzeko and Federico Chiesa shared 5th place, winning 13.

Three of the top five are also from the Premier League. Crystal Palace Liverpool’s Wilfried Zaha and Liverpool’s Salah – both with a reputation for being prone to falling – partly proved that they were frequently fouled as they shared fourth place with 14 penalties. Italy international Ciro Immobile has won more than one of the aforementioned duos, with Kylian Mbappe taking second place with 16 penalties won.

City of Manchester Raheem Sterling tops the overall list, having won 18 penalties over the course of the past six seasons so far. The England international’s quick pace will certainly be a factor in this, while the sheer number of chances Pep Guardiola’s side create and the frequency with which they execute in the opposition box must also be considered. consider a lot.

Penalties won since 2016/17

18 Raheem Sterling
16 Kylian Mbappé
15 Ciro Immobile
14 Mohamed Salah
14 Wilfried Zaha
13 Federico Chiesa
13 Edin Dzeko
twelfth Marcus Thuram
twelfth Mauro Icardi
twelfth Nabil Fekir
twelfth Andrea Belotti
twelfth Jamie Vardy
11 Ismaila Sarr
11 Santi Mina
11 Neymar
ten Timo Werner
ten Luis Suárez
ten Alexandre Lacazette
9 Cristiano Ronaldo
9 Moussa Dembele
9 Joaquin Correa
9 Corentin Jean
9 Callum Wilson
9 Gianluca Lapadula
9 Breel Donald Embolo
9 Marcus Rashford
9 Iker Munain
9 Dries Mertens

Read more

Read more

Source link


News of max: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button